Writerly Words

WRITERLY WORDS – blogpost for Thistle Club blog 1.11.14 J.I. O’Neal

 

Okay, so I realize that “writerly” isn’t a word, but you have to admit, it rolls nicely off the tongue all the same. I was recently sent one of those “Word of the Day” emails from a friend of mine and it got me thinking.  You see, the WOTD was scripturient. See below.

 As I said, this got me thinking, Is this quality what makes a writer, a writer? Is this what separates those of us who ARE writers from those of us who WRITE? Which one of these two types am I, or at least, I think I am?

I have to say that the scripturient writer must be a curious creature.  I mean, just look at that definition: a consuming passion to write.  A passion that consumes you cannot be hidden, it cannot be contained because it is working, churning, driving and devouring you from the inside out.

 I cannot fathom feeling like this every day of my life.

So, does that mean I simply write and am not a writer?

No. Scripturient is an adjective. It is a description of a state of being, and, like all states of being – even the state of being – it is transient. There are days when I am as scripturient as the sun is hot. There are other days when the thought of picking up a pencil or typing a single word feels like the last thing I want to do (but that doesn’t stop me from piecing together scenes and bits of dialogue in my head anyway). Being a writer, and not just writing, is a passion. It is a Gift – yes, that is with a capital “G” – and, as such, it has to be recognized as coming from the only Giver capable of creating such a wondrous thing.  God gives writers the Gift of Writing, the Gift of Imagination, the Gift of Storytelling and He wants us to use it.

Both scripturient and Scripture have the same Latin root word, scriptus – the past participle of scribere, to write – and I can’t help but think that something more than just etymology is behind that.  I truly believe God loves the written word and has therefore given some us the talent and the passion for the written word as well.

So if God has seen fit to Gift you with scripturience, embrace it and be not afraid to share it, to the glory of God forever, Amen.

Psalms 115:1 Not unto us, O LORD, not unto us, but unto thy name give glory, for thy mercy, and for thy truth’s sake.

1 Corinthians 10:31 Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.

 

 

Leave a Reply

